Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

ARC Review: Some Fine Day by Kat Ross

18666113

 

Some Fine Day by Kat Ross (Expected July 2014 by strangechem) thanks NetGalley!

“Sixteen-year-old Jansin Nordqvist is on the verge of graduating from the black ops factory known as the Academy. She’s smart and deadly, and knows three things with absolute certainty:
1. When the world flooded and civilization retreated deep underground, there was no one left on the surface.
2. The only species to thrive there are the toads, a primate/amphibian hybrid with a serious mean streak.
3. There’s no place on Earth where you can hide from the hypercanes, continent-sized storms that have raged for decades.
Jansin has been lied to. On all counts.”

Check that out for a blurb. If you’re into SF or dystopia then I know you’re already buzzin’ right?

I had a feeling I was going to enjoy this book- I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. Partly because the premise is a little worn, you know? The earth becomes inhabitable topside so where else is there to go apart from the moon? You gotta dig down, dig in, and hope the million ton of rock doesn’t fall on your head!

There were many things that I enjoyed about this book. Firstly, I had great fun spotting where there were possible influences, or similar ideas, to other great SF type books. I mean, there is a serious Atwood vibe to this book that I LOVED. Oryx and Crake all the way. And then to something more recent like Red Rising by Pierce Brown. But with all this it still manages to stand out and feel original. And that takes skill as a writer methinks. There is no such thing as an original idea anymore, everything has to be recycled- it’s in reworking that counts.

Secondly, the characterisation was spot on. I really felt for the characters, even for the ones that were slightly arseholey *cough* Jake *cough*. As a protagonist, Jansin was great. What I thought was most encouraging about her as a strong female lead was that it was never compromised. She didn’t go all goo-goo eyed and fall helplessly into a boy’s arms. Nuh uh. There’s a refreshing quality to the developing relationship between Will and Jansin- it feels natural, and healthy too. She’s a strong young woman, but he’s no grass in the wind- he can stick up for himself. I think for Will, he’s effected more by his emotions than Jan, which is really interesting to read.

The world building is really well done. Not too much detail that I became bored with it, but not too sparse that it didn’t hold up in my imagination. There’s a smattering of scientificness to it that makes it all seem scarily possible. And I also enjoyed the political element to it- the relations between different areas.

Cool technology! I want me one of those hoverbike doodahs. For real. *looks at Honda* make it happen.

This book was badass. Full throttle action mixed with mega feels. A proper YA SF- my favourite kind that mixes up a microcosm of human interactions with a wider wider worldly problem.

Loved it. An easy 5 out of 5.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Some Fine Day by Kat Ross

    1. Cool! It was a really great read, and well done especially considering the almost over used scenario. Let me know what you think when you get a copy πŸ™‚

Talk to me!

