Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Will the Real Abi Saunders Please Stand Up? by Sara Hantz

18593725Will the Real Abi Saunders Please Stand Up? by Sara Hantz (May 2014 by Entangled: Teen) from NetGalley 🙂

“Abi Saunders might be a kickboxing champion, but when it comes to being the center of attention, she’d rather take a roundhouse kick to the solar plexus any day. So when her trainer convinces her to audition to be the stunt double for hot teen starlet Tilly Watson, Abi is shocked—and a little freaked out—when she gets the job.

Being a stunt double is overwhelming, but once the wig and makeup are on, Abi feels like a different person. Tilly Watson, to be exact. And when Tilly’s gorgeous boyfriend, Jon, mistakes Abi for the real star, Abi’s completely smitten. In fact, she’s so in love with her new life, it isn’t long before she doesn’t have time for her old one.

But when the cameras are turned off, will she discover running with the Hollywood A-list isn’t quite the glamorous existence she thought it was?”

This book was fun. It turned out to be something of a page-turner and I quickly flew through it.

What did I like?

Abi – I’ve been looking around the blogosphere and there are some grumbles that Abi wasn’t a character they could relate to, or liked very much. I found her truly easy to identify with. She’s a little awkward and has some anxiety issues that I found similar to my own at her age (18). I feel that the author gave us a character that has a realistic and understandable reaction to the new situation she finds herself in.

Story – It’s not totally out there in fantasy land. This could happen. A case of right place, right time, and we know that Abi is the best at what she does, she why wouldn’t she land that job? The actress she doubles for, Tilly, reminds me of someone- but I can’t put my finger on it at the moment.

The ending – After all the ‘just friends’ business (that did reach the point of annoyance, see below) the ending is so sweet. Had my heart all a-flutter and everything.

What didn’t work for me?

‘We’re just friends’ – If I had a quid for every time Abi says this about her mate Matt, I’d be freakin’ rich! I got it the first time.. and it’s a valid point! No one wants to risk ruining a great friendship. But after a while it grows tiring. I just wanted to shake her.

Length – Damn this book is short! And really, this is a compliment in disguise because I felt like it could have been much longer, and still I would have been interested. There were some rushed moments in the plot that were key to character development etc but given more page time, would have been spot on. Abi changes as like the wind! So does Tilly. And everyone lives happily ever after.. wait! Not yet! Let’s feel through this angst some more, make me care stronger, make me hurt harder! Make me smile wider!

This was a fun read. Light and quick, I enjoyed it very much. It’s not necessarily something that will linger with me, but I was eager to keep reading it, and not so eager to put it down. There were some places where Abi’s ongoing narrative was unecessary ‘just saying.’ But overall a good book!

I’m giving it a happy 3.5 out of 5. It’s not my most favoured read this year, but it was sweet, and compelling enough to have me looking forward to bed time (when I do most of my reading). It’s a nice one. 🙂

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

