Posted in Chit Chat

NetGalley Wellness Challenge and other musings

So, I signed up for the NetGalley Wellness Challenge this year. Click here for more info.

This year the focus is on reviewing/feedback and I’m looking forward to giving it my all. But I wanted to take the opportunity to explain my own motivations and goals, and also some lighter musings on NetGalley and its usage.

Why am I taking part in the Wellness Challenge?

  • Motivation – to tackle the ever growing pile of TBR titles. I have a lot of older books that I requested when I first joined NetGalley and had the kid int he candy shop complex. GIMME ALL THE BOOKS! xD
  • Development – I want to develop my read-to-review process and hopefully learn better what publishers want to receive in their feedback.
  • Epic Reads – linked to the first bullet point, but more than that. I really want to find a book that makes me go ‘oh my god’, that’s better than sliced bread.
  • Surprise – In my search for the bestest book ever, I also want to be surprised. I can be quite judgmental about cover art… that doesn’t make NOT read a book, but I like pretty covers. What I like even more is when the cover art is a little DIY but the narrative itself might as well win the Man Booker. Great words, that’s what it’s all about.

Some mixed feelings about NetGalley:

  • Rejection – Lately I’ve been experiencing rejection on a big scale! I think I’ve receive one title out of all those I’ve requested this last month. I don’t request that many, so the ones I choose I’m excited about. It has made me wonder- I have recently contacted NetGalley about something- and paranoia sets in… Do I have a mark against my permanent record? Or have the goal posts moved for publishers seeking reviewers? I’m sure it’s nothing- It’s probably just the luck of the draw- we’ll see 🙂
  • ‘<insert location> preferred’ – I understand that there can be a problem with copyright etc. But when you’re a Brit blogger it can be difficult enough to secure titles from publishers- electronic or physical (oh my word, the first time I put my hands on a physical ARC I shook with excitement! Thanks bookbridgr!) US and UK (and any English speaking) bloggers are much of a muchness- the role of the blogger should be about providing the availability info. And the magic of the interwebs means that you’ll attract a readership from all over the world.
  • Easy interface – What I LOVE about NetGalley is the ease in which you can navigate the site. I’ve tried other galley sites, but none have the same slick system that the NG team have. Just click and go!
  • Great Support – I’m very impressed by the level of support and quick responses the NG team will give you. I’ve had a scout around other blogs etc and they’ve experienced the same level of attentiveness and eagerness to answer questions and concerns you may have.

It’s a system that I’ll continue to use for its simplicity and professional approach- aware that some publishers and authors might have different motives or specifications on their end, I’m confident that it will continue to be one the main ways I get those galleys! xD

In the meantime, I’m going to get lost in the books sitting on my TBR shelf and hopefully give some usefully balanced and consistent feedback to publishers. *thumbs*

One last thing:

NetGalley QUESTION ONE

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

5 thoughts on “NetGalley Wellness Challenge and other musings

    1. Thanks! Sometimes it feels more like a curse than a blessing.. I literally have no self control.. xD

  1. Oh wow, this is a really interesting challenge. I just clicked the link and read the info. It sounds like a great challenge for trying some different tips to write better reviews and improve the whole process (and make it all more professional). Thanks for sharing this!

    1. You’re welcome! I thought it was a really neat initiative, I just had to get involved. 🙂

Talk to me!

