Posted in Chit Chat

She Reads… And She Writes?

I know right? Who would have thunk it?

Thanks to Heather B Costa for inviting me to joining on this merry blog meme! The brief was simple; write an article based off these questions:

What am I working on at the moment?
How does my work differ from others of its genre?
Why do I write what I do?
How does my writing process work?

 

I suppose the best place to start is to take a little time to talk about the ‘other half’ of my literary obsessions. I mean, I love reading, and I love literature.. hence I started this blog. But I also write my own stories. Novels. Poetry. Flash fiction. Fan fiction. Whatever takes my fancy πŸ™‚

So – what am I working on at the moment?

I’ve just finished my creative writing dissertation. At 10000 words, I intend to finish it over the summer (ambitious!) It’s the beginnings of a novel, set in Venice.

I’m also continuing to work on my poetry portfolio- making ready to send out into the world. πŸ™‚

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I love genre fiction. But that’s not what I’m into writing at the moment. I think it would be easier to classify it as ‘literary’, but tomato, tomato (that doesn’t work on paper, does it?)

I usually try and work with different genres, and include some of the characteristics, essentially making a kind of hybrid. The Gothic, for example, is something I routinely work with/against.

My ‘go-to’ genre will always be Urban Fantasy or Dark Romance, and I’ll return to writing it someday.

It’s not easy to say how my work might ‘differ’, it requires an outside view that I, from the inside, can’t have. But I like to think that the poet in my comes out in my prose writing- One of my fellow creative writing students would probably say I have a preoccupation with ‘sex and the grotesque’ – but it can be much the same, no? xD

Why do I write what I do?

Because that’s what’s in my brain? I can’t explain it.. It’s not always logical.. It rarely makes a whole bunch of sense.. and I’m sometimes a little scared by my own imagination.

I like to question language and literature in some way within what I write, drawing attention to the power, and the weakness, of it on the human condition.

How does my writing process work?

Erratically. It usually starts with an image, or a feeling, and from there a character or a scene begins to flesh itself out. Once I’ve got my character(s), they’ll often have conversations in my head.. and it’s usually when I can’t write it down, like when I’m driving or in a lecture.

After that, it’s just ‘as and when’. I have to fit it in around university and work, so some weeks are better than others.

I haven’t tagged anyone yet, but I will! I will! πŸ˜€

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

