Posted in Chit Chat

Book Blast from the Past! #1

Books, and reading, becomes a ‘thing’ for us at different ages. Some of us never get there. Some of us are hooked from the first bedtime story.

I thought it could be fun to visit books that made my childhood/teens, books that pre-date my Goodreads shelf by a good decade, and that totally rocked my world!

 

21224497

 

The Saddle Club series

Oh my word. I was obsessed with these books.

I took up riding lessons when I was 5. By the time started secondary school, horses were everything to me! I found the first few volumes in the school library and immediately snapped them up. And then I remember begging to be taken to the book store to buy more!

Twelve-year-olds Carole Hanson and Stevie Lake have been best friends ever since they met at Pine Hollow stables. So when thirteen-year-old Lisa Atwood shows up for her first lesson dressed in fancy riding gear – and acting chummy with the snobbiest girl in town – the girls aren’t sure she’ll fit in. But Lisa soon shows herself to be a quick learner, and Carole and Stevie can’t help but admire her natural riding talents. Soon the three girls are fast friends. They begin to make plans for the MTO, the long-awaited Mountain Trail Overnight campout for the students of Pine Hollow. There’s just one problem: Stevie’s parents won’t pay for it unless she improves her grades.

Stevie was my favourite character, hands down. I remember she had a slightly haphazard kind of way of living and I could relate to that. The author captures the voice, and the issues/themes, of any twelve year old, but with the added bonus of horses! 😀

First sleepovers, school trips, fall-outs, make-ups.. first kisses! Eeks!

I’ll always have a soft spot for this series. I never managed finished them all, but at 100 volumes, it’s a beast of a saga!

Bonnie Bryant went on to write a YA series with the same characters.. I think I might see about that. 🙂

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “Book Blast from the Past! #1

  1. I used to read a lot of horse books as well, but I never came across this particular series. I was member in this horse book club called Pollux for a few years, and it supplied me with two lovely books every month and it was awesome. 🙂 Though I was already huge book worm before this phase, it definitely contributed a lot to my love for reading. 🙂

Talk to me!

