Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Covet by J R Ward

6652893

 

Covet (Fallen Angels #1) by J R Ward (Piatkus 2009)

“Seven deadly sins. Seven souls to save. This is the first battle between a savior who doesn’t believe and a demon with nothing to lose!

Redemption isn’t a word Jim Heron knows much about-his specialty is revenge, and to him, sin is all relative. But everything changes when he becomes a fallen angel and is charged with saving the souls of seven people from the seven deadly sins. And failure is not an option. 

Vin DiPietro long ago sold his soul to his business, and he’s good with that-until fate intervenes in the form of a tough-talking, Harley-riding, self-professed savior. And then he meets a woman who will make him question his destiny, his sanity, and his heart-and he has to work with a fallen angel to win her over and redeem his own soul.”

What did I like?

Vin – He was a great character. And there is something refreshing about the fact that he is entirely human (for the most part) compared to the Black Dagger Brotherhood (as much as I love those guys) His progression as a character was really interesting, and I enjoyed the pronounced difference from his beginning self, compared to the end.

Trez/Caldwell – The crossover stuff from BDB was well played! I think it could have been too easy to have those other big bastards have cameos, but I think it would have overshadowed and somehow belittled the main action. The inclusion of Trez made sense, and added a familiar face without it being ‘too’ familiar, you dig? I love being in the same town too.

Narrative style – Ward’s voice in this series, and in BDB, is so much fun! Cursing, colloquial and cool. There’s no denying the blokish nature of the characters- real SOB’s for sure.

Dog – Aww! Dog is so cute! xD

Plot – Actually, I can’t believe I’m going to say this.. but the overall plot for Covet was much more compelling than reading a BDB book. And I think it’s because when I read about Wrath and his band of brothers, I’m far too interested in the emotional (and sexual) relationships going on than the actual grit of the story- if it isn’t a brother’s perspective, I ain’t interested. With Covet, however, the intrigue and suspense had me the whole way.

What didn’t work for me?

Jim Heron – The main guy. I know! I feel like I need another book to really warm up to him. I was much more into his mate Vin (and I hope we see him in future books?) and the angels too. Hilarious! But Jim was just a flatline for me. No up. No down. Just ‘yeah, cool’. I’m waiting for him to make me go ‘HELL YEAH!’

Finding faith – I always have some hang ups about the way angels and demons are presented in literature. I’m not a particularly religious person, in the regular sense of the word.. And so I’m never sure how I feel about running with a narrative that ultimately assumes you’re cool with heaven and hell battling out their differences on earth, through humans. It’s only a small thing really.. It doesn’t really effect how I relate to a story.

_

I was worried about starting this series.. I mean, I’ve put the Black Dagger Brotherhood on such a high pedestal..

But I shouldn’t have worried myself. I need to have more faith in the WARDen. She does it again. And I’m delighted to find another series I can jump into and love, page for page.

I’m giving Covet a strong 4 out of 5. It misses top marks because I haven’t warmed up to the main character yet. Fun, feisty fallen angels!

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

2 thoughts on “Review: Covet by J R Ward

    1. I think I was the same really. I’ve wanted to read this series for a long time.. but I wasn’t really into it until I was into it! LOL!

      Thanks for stopping by! 😀

Talk to me!

