Posted in Chit Chat

On Finishing My Degree

It’s terrifying. To think that on May 30th I’ll be handing in my last assignment, and that’s it! Then I only have to wait for the results. Hopefully a 2:1, BA (hons) Creative Writing with English Literature.

Three years of study, and as I’ve been asked by many: ‘for what?’

For what, indeed.

Sometimes, I think it’s necessary to do something for yourself. A task, an activity, a hobby, a degree… It’s about personal development rather than putting emphasis on any professional development.

That’s not to say my degree won’t aid me in employment, or in any professional kind of arena. But it’s not why I did it.

What has my degree done for me?

– Reaffirm –

…my love of Shakespeare. I’ve taken every module possible that involved the Bard:

– Introduction to Drama and Film

– Shakespeare on Film

– Shakespeare and Renaissance Drama

…my love for writing. It should have been a given, but I had no idea just how much the course would stretch me, and expand me, as a writer. I’m much more informed about the craft, and I can see how my ‘game’ has stepped up. My writing ability has undergone a transformation that is nothing short of dramatic!

…my love for learning. I’ve always loved school, I was a goody two shoes. However, when I went to university the first time, it was overwhelming. I was out of my depth. I wasn’t ready. I only lasted 3 months. So I’m proud of myself for making it 3 years this time! The library has been a real haven.

– Grow –Β 

…in confidence. As a fresher (hoo boy! That feels like a lifetime ago!) I was terrified of walking into a room full of strangers. I was uncomfortable in most social situations. I never put my hand up to answer questions. And most of all, the thought of sharing my creative work with others, to critique no less, was a nightmare. That’s all changed. I feel like a more personable person (lol) and whereas I can still be quite precious about my creative writing, I love hearing what people have to say about it… Even if it’s so I can argue their point! xD

…in scope. My eyes, as the old cliche goes, have been opened. I used to be quite stubborn- unwilling to change and unwilling to accept the motives and actions of literary agents, publishers, authors etc. I feel like I have a better understanding for how the world of literature works. And I’ve found myself willing to strive to be better. Starting this blog, for instance, as a way of getting out into the blogosphere, of getting accepted into a different community.

– Aspire –

…to achieve. Well duh. It sounds obvious, but I am much more proactive about achieving the things I want out of life. There’s no more backseating it for me!

…to inspire. I want to inspire others. Somehow. Even if it’s just by passing on my experiences here, or otherwise. I’ve found a lot of material online in the WordPress community and beyond, that has inspired me in different ways.


 

I know I’ll be sad to be finishing it, even though right now I want to pull my hair out with the looming assignment deadlines. It’s undeniably changed me as a person, in only the most positive of ways, methinks.

I’m looking forward to wearing my cap and gown come Autumn! Yeehaw!

 

 

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

10 thoughts on “On Finishing My Degree

  1. Great post, I agree with so much of what you said! πŸ™‚ As necessary as a degree is for me to get the job I want, there’s so much more to the college experience. First and firemost I think of it as the biggest challenge of my life (at least so far). I loved every second of it, even when I was panicking about courses I never thought I’d pass or worried about picking the right project topic for me. All that struggle made me a much more independent and confident person, I wouldn’t even recognize my high school self now. Feels like a lifetime ago. I hand my dissertation in on May 20th, and still have a couple of exams to pass after that, but I’m so bummed it’s almost over! 😦 Don’t even want to think about what’s next.

    1. I know! It’s sad thinking that I wont be on campus anymore 😦

      How’s it all going? My dissertation is in next Friday.. eeeks!

      1. I’m working on it constantly these days. I’ve been slacking off on my poor blog too sadly. 😦
        May 20th is still a month away, but I’ll have all my exams piled up around that time as well, so I’m trying to finish up early, and just generally keep my head above water. I don’t wanna put in all the work with my dissertation and then not graduate because I failed some random class.

  2. Congratulations! It’s one of the best feelings to be in your cap and gown on graduation day. Such an accomplishment! πŸ™‚ I also completely agree with this post. You’ve gained experience, and it will definitely help you in the long run.

  3. Great post – I totally agree. My English Lit degree is also about to come to an end – it’s terrifying, but oh-so-exciting at the same time. My degree awakened a life-long love of Shakespeare and, for me, that alone has made my time at university worthwhile!

  4. Congraduations! (for when you get there)

    It sounds like you selected the perfect course for you, I think learning is always so much easier when you have a personal interest in the subject matter.

    It’s nice to read such a positive insight into further education, your enthusiasm for it is truly inspiring, and I’m sure you’ll use that degree even more in the years to come. πŸ™‚

Talk to me!

