Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Trinity Stones by L. G. O’Connor

20256783Trinity Stones by L. G. O’Connor. ARC (expected 22nd April 2014 by She Writes Press)

Anxiety-ridden New York investment banker, Cara Collins, has little to smile about on her twenty-seventh birthday between a hostile work environment and her impossible romantic situation with her longtime friend and first love, Dr. Kai Solomon. But before the day ends, she learns she has inherited $50 million—a windfall that must remain secret or risk the lives of those close to her. 

As Cara unravels the truth surrounding her inheritance, she makes a startling discovery: angels walk among the living, and they’re getting ready to engage in a battle that will determine the future of the human race. In the midst of these revelations, she meets mysterious and sophisticated Simon Young, who offers her the promise of romance for the first time since Kai—but when Kai and his daughter are kidnapped by dark forces, Cara must choose: accept her place in a 2,000-year-old prophecy foretold in the Trinity Stones as the First of the Twelve who will lead the final battle between good and evil . . . or risk losing everything she holds dear.

Let me start by saying this; I enjoyed this book!

There were some places that my inner editor was desperate to take a pen to, and not because I’m being all high and mighty or anything, but because I believe in the potential in this book.

Don’t be confused by the cover. It muddled my expectations and where I was ready to accept something quite straight laced and fantastical, it’s got a sultry, urban fantasy vibe that is much more up my street.

So, what worked for me?

  • Characters – You’ll see this listed below too, but it’ll make sense. Cara was a great character, and so was Simon. I think Simon was the most compelling; his past and his struggle with the present really engaged me. I also thought that secondary characters such as Michael and Sienna and Zeke stood out really well. I cared about them, a lot. Especially the dog!
  • Plot – Interesting! I’m always intrigued when someone decides to take on a angelic/demonic slant. I like to see how the issue of ‘humanity’ is handled and I think it works pretty well here.
  • Love, love, love – I was digging the ‘ship between Cara and Simon like a miner. Initially I was wary (it’s almost in insta-love territory) but it simmered away nicely.
  • Chloe – As mentioned above, this little whippet was such a wonderful addition to the story, and the eventual role she has to play in it!

What didn’t work for me?

  • Pages and pages – of both ‘Angelorum’ lore, and sex. Ok, let’s look at the former first. There’s this one moment when Cara is discovering who she really is, or more what role she has to play in the ‘trinity’ and I admit, I skipped a lot of pages there. I’m not gonna lie, I think it was overkill. Even after skimming all those pages I think I get it; angels good, demons bad. Fate. Big battle of badass proportions. Cara is important.
  • Cont. – And then the sex. Which, I might add, saved itself for the final pages, and for me that was a let down. Cara and Simon simmer to boiling point and yeah, they have some sessions of heavy petting, but it felt like it was tacked onto the end. I was expected a quick fumble in a dark corner or something, just as they were about to risk (and potentially ‘lose’) their lives fighting the bad guys. Also, because it was all sex in one hit, I was bored. Just skip to the part where she goes down on him, and it starts getting really sexy. Up until that point? Meh.
  • Cont. – Kai. Seriously. Gonna ‘fess up here. I skipped most of his parts too. Did I miss out on much? Nah. Just cut him out. He’s filler. Kai is a scientist working on a project that can manipulate DNA and make people into Nephilim. It’s a dangerous job. Hence the kidnap. *nods*
  • Characters – Too many. There’s just too many. At one point there’s like ten blokes in the room, and lord knows who is who…

Ah yeah, there’s a serious Black Dagger Brotherhood vibe here. Got it all down to the tatts and the ‘bonding’ to a ‘mate’. It’s far enough removed that it wasn’t something I was always aware of, but with all this big, hench fellas in the same room, mostly leather clad, generally well off, super hot, fighting badasses.. it definitely draws a parallel. Someone notify the WARDen… 😛

I’m going to add here that there’s a maddening kind of situation here when you bring in the idea of ‘fate’ or ‘destiny’. The narrative makes use of the idea of destiny to suit its current plot needs, but I was really struggling with it because you can’t accept that destiny is a go and then say; on the other hand you have a choice. No, not really. If you choose to go down a different path, then surely that was your destiny to do so? If you accept that your fate was to end up where you are, then all the ‘choices’ you made were part of it?

*brain explodes*

I really enjoyed Trinity Stones. I’m wondering how it can progress, considering the HEA (happily ever after) scene we’re left with. I hope it continues with Simon and Cara as the main characters because getting to know all ‘twelve’ players could get exhausting. Don’t be taking my Chamuel (Simon) away from me!

A healthy 3.5 out of 5. I couldn’t realistically give it more considering how many pages I felt forced to skip, but I enjoyed this book very much! And I am looking forward to a sequel.

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

Talk to me!

