Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: The King by J R Ward

17703290

The King by J R Ward (released April 2014)

Long live the King… 

After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle–with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything–and everyone–at risk.

Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated the last pure blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she’s unprepared for Wrath’s response–or the distance it creates between them.

The question is, will true love win out… or tortured legacy take over?

Where the eff do I even begin?

I mean, this is the end, right?

Please correct me if I’m wrong (PLEASE!!!) but this felt like it had to be the end. It ends… so… perfectly.

After waiting nearly a year for this book (and having a hissy fit when it wasn’t delivered to my Kindle at midnight EXACTLY and then ranting and raving my way around twitter… and then relief when I got it at 00:26… and reading it one sitting of about 5 hours), what did I think?

Initially – I was overwhelmed.

A little hindsight – I’m a little disappointed.

There wasn’t really any ‘big bad’ to fight in this one, not really. And I though it offered a nice reprieve from previous books, but I think that meant it lacked a little in action and purpose. If the boys are out there (in all their leathery glory) kicking ass on the edge of life and death? It adds that element of danger that I have grown to love about this series.

Wrath – I have worshipped this character for years. He’s right up there, a paragon for every well-built, hulking vampire that I ever might want to create. He let me down a little in this book. Why? I think it the WARDen does a fantastic job of making him flawed, and being back with his perspective makes this even more obvious. Beth needed him, and he initially let her down. Tsk. Men.

Wrath… Wrath.. Just listen to me. Let it gooooo *makes wooshy movements with arms*

He gets there though. Thank gosh. Or I would have slapped someone with the flat side of my kindle.

Beth – She rocks. As ever. I think Ward does such a fantastic job of capturing her motives for wanting a baby. It’s not something simple. It’s loaded with emotional, and unconscious needs that made so much sense to me. I think it was Tohr that says something along the lines of ‘a woman without a young is like a hellren without his mate’ (or to that effect). I don’t want to give anything away, but I knew it, I just KNEW IT, even though it didn’t make sense when thinking about vampire lore. I knew it! *beams*

Lassiter – This angel is hilarious. I can’t say much more without dropping spoilers, but he his appearance in the story is simply genius. I actually laughed, out loud.

That moment – Ah! So sweet! So tender! A little bit silly, but every bit serious and that Wrath goes with it made up for all my early doubts about him. So touching!

The secondary plot lines – A confession. I read this book from cover to cover, but I did find myself getting a little impatient to get back to the Brotherhood characters. Ward’s writing is so good that I wasn’t bored, just eager to be back with Wrath and Beth et al. Some pages may have been skimmed rather than greedily gobbled up.

Gender politics – This deals with some serious relationship upheavals that I’m sure are totally relatable, even if you don’t have fangs or severe bloodlust. Baby anxiety (Wrath/Beth). Women fighters (Payne/Wrath). And I’m always impressed by how this was all handled in the first books- as in, the females have all the power, really. Male vampires are bonded to a female, but they don’t necessarily have to reciprocate; it’s ultimately their choice to stay, or go.

Sex. Just a quick note (because all you BDB fans will already know this, and expect it), the sex is hawt! 😉

The King was everything I needed it to be, methinks. Minor grumbles aside, I can’t imagine anything else I would want to happen. I feel disappointed because it did feel like it was simply tying up any loose ends, dealing with business, and then shutting up shop. The ending touched my heart, but also made it heavy because… is this really the end?

All hail The King.

 

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

10 thoughts on “Review: The King by J R Ward

  1. I loved your review! You captured ‘The King’ so beautifully! I completely agree with you… it was the eagerness that had me grumbling not the writing because that as always was epic! 🙂
    Gender politics indeed… (potential spoilers in case any body reads this): Payne makes some pretty fierce comments to Wrath about the whole man vs woman – fighting/injuries/honour situation. She had me saying ‘YOU TELL HIM, GIRL!’ a lot 😉

    1. Oh for sure!!

      I mean, I felt like Wrath’s freaking crazy rage issues are something that could easily crop up again, you know? Stress or no stress.. that was insane!

      And I felt bad for Payne.

      Lassiter though.. wasn’t Lassiter so brilliant?

      1. Oh I feel you!! Damn! That was so intense that it was oh so very haaawwwwt! And Rhage just casually catching the incoming flying sofa? Hotter.
        Yeah, same here. But I have so much respect for her for fighting against these macho-men! 😉
        And yes! Yes, he was! I hope there is more of him in the next one! Haha he makes me laugh so much! I must read ‘The Fallen’ series now by Ward… Apparently he’s in it… (Sighs as she stares at her expanding stack of books but who is she kidding? She loves it! haha)

      2. Me too. I’ve been apprehensive about starting them because I’ve put Wrath on such a high pedestal.. how can anyone live up to him? 😮

Talk to me!

