Posted in Chit Chat

Dealing with Book Need

large

So you’ve just finished a book. To be precise, you’ve just finished a book that is just one in a series and the sequel isn’t released for another TWELVE MONTHS.

Lover At Last (Black Dagger Brotherhood #11) fell into my lap last March. The King doesn’t come out until 1st April.

17703290

I am so strongly invested in this series. It changed me as a reader, and as a writer too.

But what do you do in times like this? It’s so close now, I can almost freakin’ taste the sweat dripping off Wrath’s.. Ok. *cold shower*

I thought it would be fun to maybe consider how the heck I made it this far without spontaneously combusting!

__

1. Afterburn.

Lover at Last finished. Cover closed. For the first few days I couldn’t even entertain the idea of reading anything else because I needed to cling to the story, and the characters, in my mind for a little longer. It was bittersweet, a kind of exquisite pain as it slowly faded and the prospect of waiting a WHOLE YEAR (yes, I will keep milking that fact) took over me.

2. Recap.

Time to go back over those tummy-twisting, toe-curling, heart-thudding scenes. Furiously scribble down the quotes that made me smile.

“I think that’s Justin Bieber.

Standing in front of a line up of Lay’s potato chips, Qhuinn looked overhead to the speaker inset into the ceiling tiles. Yup, I’m right, and I hate that I know that.

Next to him John Matthew signed, How do you know?

The little shit is everywhere.

I swear, that kid is proof the Antichrist is coming.

Maybe it’s already here.

Would explain Miley Cyrus.

3. Re-read.

No, not necessarily the book I’ve just been mooning over. But I visited where it all started again. Back to Wrath. Which felt apt, since #12 comes back to Wrath’s perspective again. Yay!

4. Internet creeper.

Yep. Gotta get creepin’ online. Sometimes authors are nice enough to release a teaser chapter or something. Just SOMETHING to keep us hungry readers going.

5. Overactive imagination (or ‘bad cheese syndrome’)

Sometimes my subconscious hates me. Other times I think it tries to help me. I have crazy whacked out dreams… but on occasion I am granted ones full of my favourite characters from books/TV/film etc. It doesn’t make it any less crazy (recent dreams include a strange encounter with Chuck Bass from Gossip Girl while alternating between being myself and Blair Waldorf and suffering from OCD and washing my hands over and over.. and counting.. and yeah, Freud would have a field day with my brain)

7. Distraction.

Once I managed to let it go (I’ll never let go! Come back Jack! Come back!)  the search began for something that could distract me from the loss of Wrath et al. But it’s also important that it isn’t too much like the BDB or it’ll annoy me or grieve me further. I went totally off the wall last time this happened and ended up reading ‘The Private Papers of Eastern Jewel’ which was completely beyond the boundaries of my normal hunting grounds. That said, it was GREAT and helped me get over my loss.. Heh. This year I’ve pre-empted it, already got my fall-back book:

9756579

__

A quick sidenote.. Congratulations to Lover at Last for winning the best book in the Romance category on Goodreads last year. Hells to the yes! Kicked butt!

Untitled

Tell me, help me! How do you make it through the wait?

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

12 thoughts on “Dealing with Book Need

  1. I am actually dealing with something similar. I always have the hardest time starting a new book after I finish one. The new one has a hard time living up to the last.

    1. Totally! There’s a lack of sparkle or pizzazz. And that’s not to say the next book you read isn’t good… but it has some big shoes to fill. *le sigh*

  2. I’m waiting for the last books in two series, and they both come out this year. The only way I’m making it through is by (attempting to) distract myself. And using Pinterest to cling to the characters, quotes, etc 😀 Other than that, I don’t know how to cope, heheh.

    I’m familiar with that feeling of not wanting to read anything else because of finishing an awesome book, though.

    P.S. That’s an awesome quote from the book! I laughed hard. 😀

    1. Heh heh. Thanks! I was torn between a couple of quotes.. but some of them would require an age certificate or something.. Hawt stuff! Lols.

      What books are you waiting for?

      1. City of Heavenly Fire.. that’s the City of Bones etc. series yah? I read the first three (or four? I can’t remember) but I lost faith in it after that weird moment where it was like ‘this looks like it might be incest.. Oops! Nah. Just kidding.’ Nope. Wasn’t a fan of that move. I want to finish reading the series, but I feel like I’ll be too lost to pick it up again.

  3. I’m also waiting on books to finish two series that aren’t out until May. I always have to have a break when a book gives me a kick straight in the feels. After a week I can usually go read something completely different. 🙂

    1. I’m glad it’s not just me that has to take a little time before I move on! Heh. Thanks for stopping by! 😀

      Oh! Which books are you waiting for? Out of curiosity..

      1. ‘The One’ by Kiera Cass – my guilty pleasure series. It’s like a sugary romance dystopia YA.

        The second one was ‘While We Run’ by Karen Healey which is a scifi set in Melbourne Aus in 2127. I actually picked up a copy yesterday because it’s just come out in Australia. The US publishing date isn’t until May, hence my confusion.

        There’s also ‘Unmade’ by Sarah Rees Brennan but that’s not out until September. ;.;

  4. One of the main benefits of being a bit behind on books (see what I did there!) is that sometimes you find one you love and the sequel has already been released! Then the real test of patience comes; do you buy and devour the sequel instantly, or try to wait until part three comes out before reading part two?
    Stay behind, that’s the best way to go! I’ve tried to read ‘substitute’ books – like similar stories, settings or characters as my favourites – it’s just not the same!
    I can’t make do with preview chapters either, I can’t read them knowing I don’t have access to the whole thing. It’s a tease, and I don’t want to end up acting like a child, stamping my feet and screaming “I want the rest of it NOW!”

    1. Ha ha! Yeah, there is always that danger with preview chapters. Sometimes I can’t do it. Sometimes I can’t stop myself!

      If there’s a series I’ll usually buy books 1 and 2. That way I can leap right into the sequel. It annoys me if I can’t read the next one IMMEDIATELY! This is why Waterstones should consider opening 24 hours a day.

      😀

Talk to me!

