Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday – Paranormal Lurve! <3

top ten

As usual, TTT is brought to you by the Broke and the Bookish

Ok, so I’m going to take a little creative licence when it comes to what qualifies as ‘paranormal romance’. If there’s something spooky and a plenty of romantic SQWEE moments then it qualifies. You might disagree. But that’s ok. 🙂

I picked this genre because it’s my ‘go to’ when I just want something I know I’m going to enjoy. There’s no gamble, no risk, just give me my vamps and werewolves and let me drool all over them.

3128414I’m going to start with Richelle. I swear, this woman can do no wrong when she writes. I will literally read anything she publishes. The Dark Swan series is more accurately ‘urban fantasy’ – but it still took me on such an addictive paranormal journey. We follow Eugenie as she moves between our world and that of the fey, opening other portals along the way to other darker dimensions to send oogly booglies back to where they belong.

Sexy characters. Intrigue. Magic. Dorian. (Because Dorian is simply wonderful!)

__

10765906I came to this because there is something a little similar to the Dark Swan series about it. This series hits the ground running, and it never lets up! Another addictive, parallel universe type series that I love, love, love.

__

6361415 More horror? More mystery? Meh. It’s Sookie Stackhouse. It HAD to feature in this list. I’ll admit, I haven’t finished the series yet, I felt like it was trying to stretch itself too far. But that doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy it all the way. TEAM ERIC! xD

__

6098684 An odd choice because I haven’t finished volume 1 yet. But a good friend swears by this series, so I felt obliged to include it. It was one of the first big players in the genre. The jury is still out. 🙂

__

1226316 Yeah, I’m calling this paranormal romance. And what? Heh. I would do anything to meet a real-life Wrath. Anything. Such a sexy series. And so well mapped too. Are we at volume 12 or something now? The WARDen knows how to spin a web! Each volume is told from a different brother’s perspective which helps keep it fresh methinks. And did I mention it’s hawt? *fans self*

__

18817064 A new find! I was given the great pleasure of reading a review copy of this earlier this year, and wow. I enjoyed the heck out of it. It’s a new series within a world that has featured in others, but I haven’t read anything else by Shawntelle yet. It’s not necessary to enjoy this book. It stands out on its own.

__

1239933 It’s Richelle again. Heh. This series was epic! So original. And sexy to boot! It was so much fun, and the main character/love interest had me rooting for them all the way. Some really great side characters too.

Random fact – It was reading this series that introduced me to Grey Goose vodka!

__

1192363 Oooh. Yelena and Valek. OTP indeed! Possibly my most favoured couple in a series. Ever. (Ignoring Dimitri and Rose for a few moments) Again, this is probably less ‘paranormal romance’ and more ‘fantasy’ but it still qualifies by my reckoning.

It’s also one of the only books that I have re-read.

__

793399 I’m not very far into the first book, but I love the tone. I can feel it in my bones that I’m going to LOVE this series.

__

345627 Ok, ok. I wasn’t actually going to include this one, it’s already obvious I’m a hardcore Mead fan. But how can this NOT feature on this list?

Do I need to say much about it?

No? Good.

Dimitri ❤

__

What would feature on your list? Are you a paranormal fan?

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Paranormal Lurve! <3

  1. I really need to read something by Richelle Mead. I own the first three books in the Vampire Academy series, but I still need to take the time and read them. I also see that I might need to add more to my TBR pile from this list. I’m doomed to never read all the books I own, haha.

    1. It’s brilliant! I just finished The Winner’s Cursr by… *thinks* gosh darn it my brain is failing me.. but anyway, there are glimmers of the Study series in that too which totally rocked my world.

      And yes, Richelle Mead is a genius. Fo sho.

      🙂

      1. Haha, I think it was Marie Rutkoski who wrote The Winner’s Curse, right? I love that author. 😀

        I need to read The Fiery Heart ASAP. I’m so mad that I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

      2. That sounds right! It was a freakin’ awesome read!!

        Ooh. Oooooh. Oooh my gawd. You are going to squee with delight when you read The Fiery Heart. Brillance-in-a-can.

        😀

  2. First thing: Really need to get to reading Poison Study. The author has really great world building in her other books!

    Second thing: Adrian totally trumps Dimitri. Vampire Academy is still great though. But still, Bloodlines all the way 😀

    1. Nuh uh. I mean, I love Bloodlines… But..

      Nope. We’ll have to agree to disagree. It’s all about Dimitri for me. Heh heh.

Talk to me!

