Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review – White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

17455585White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout (published February 25th 2014 by HalequinTeen)

Summary from Goodreads:

“One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.”

I haven’t had the best start with this author. My first experience was with the Covenant series, which proved to be a little controversial with readers. I’m still not sure where I stand on that one- I enjoy reading that series.. but..

Such a huge sigh of relief! The Dark Elements series is set for a win methinks!

What did I like?

  • Paranormal aspect – This is by no means ‘new’ ground, and when I first opened this book, it took a little while for me to jump on board with it. But once I was locked in (I think it was at about 17%) I was quite impressed by the details. It’s not just a haphazard ‘there’s things that go bump in the night’ type of affair. This is good vs evil, an upstairs vs. downstairs thing that isn’t afraid to blur the lines.
  • Roth – This guy (demon?) is hawt. Stand aside Zayne, I’m on team Roth 100%.
  • General characterisation – Each character is an individual. Well described and then developed, no one faded into the background.
  • Layla – Ok, so I don’t like her name. But she’s a compelling main character. One that I think many girls will appreciate too, for her flaws, and for her strengths.

What didn’t work for me?

  • The beginning – Wow. The opening couple of chapters are such a garbled mess. I think Armentrout tries to pack so much into them so that we can move forward with the rest of the story, but I struggled to keep up. I also didn’t like Layla’s voice at first either. She was all tough words and slang and I was convinced I was in for a poor copy of Buffy Summers (and no one takes my Buffy away from me!) Perhaps if a little more time had been taken to build the scene/world, and gently ease the reader into Layla’s ballsy character..
  • Sam – Probably the only character that doesn’t have a point. It’s sad, because I can see him being so much more, but as it is, it feels like he’s only there for one purpose: Useless knowledge about random things – later becoming useful for one of those useless facts. You follow me? Heh.

But man the FEELS in this book. THE DAMN FEELS!

Layla vs Zayne

Layla vs Petr

Layla vs Roth

All three interactions had me gripped. I’m not sure I’m down with the love triangle because it’s obvious Roth is the only one for Layla.. but I just know in my bones that Zayne will give it a shot in the next book.

A great paranormal read. If you pick it up, just trust me when I say that you need to stick with it. Get passed the shaky start and you’ll be utterly enthralled.

I’m giving it a slid 4/5. Great fun. Great feels. Great read!

🙂

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

4 thoughts on “Review – White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Talk to me!

