Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday – Popular Authors I’ve Avoided

top ten

Ah ha! Did I get you?

I’ll admit it, I haven’t really been ‘avoiding’ these popular authors, but I do have a slight aversion to something that gets mega hype.

I do intend to read books by these authors.. but maybe when the excitement has died down.

As usual, TTT is hosted by the Broke and Bookish.

Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

1. Rainbow Rowell – I know, I know. This one is nearly a crime! I’ve had Eleanor and Park on my TBR list for so long now…

2. Suzanne Collins – What? I can’t be the ONLY person to have not read the Hunger Games. Right?

3. Veronica Roth – What? I can’t be the ONLY person to have notΒ read the Divergent series. Right?

4. Tahereh MafiΒ – What? I can’t be the ONLY person to have not read the Shatter Me series. Right? (Is this getting old yet?)

5. John Green – I swear. I’m getting to it. Soon. Promise! Pinky promise!

6. Stephanie Perkins – Anna and the French Kiss needs to happen. And it will. ASAP.

7. Gena Showalter – I was recommended The Lords of the Underworld series when I was suffering from BDB withdrawal.

8. Marissa MeyerΒ – Cinder seems like so much fun. I just need to get around to it…

9. Dean Koontz – A bit of a curveball compared to the others, but a really good friend is into his books. So I’ve been meaning to give them a go.

10. This is not a cop out. But I am leaving this one BLANK. Why? Because I want YOU to fill it for me. Who should I have read by now? What should I be rushing out to the book shop for? Let me know, and I’ll reply if I’ve already conquered that mountain or not.

Muchos love. -x-

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Popular Authors I’ve Avoided

  1. Wow, I actually read at least one book from everyone on this list, except Gena Showalter and Dean Koontz. You’re even more behind than I am! πŸ™‚ Recommending all of them, even though I hate the Shatter me series now, I didn’t hate it when I read the first book.
    As for more recommendations? Funny you should ask, I was just thinking yestreday about making a post about auhors I want to try this year. Libba Bray is on my list (I know you’ve read from her), and Julie Kagawa & Jennifer L. Armentrout, I don’t if you’ve tried them. I’m sick of everyone going on about The iron fey books and the Lux series, so I want to get around to those this year.

    1. Ah! I picked up #1 in The Luxe series in a second hand shop recently. So that is firmly on my tbr list.

      Armentrout.. She does the Apollyon series true? I love to hate, hate to love, that series. Lol.

      Thanks for tour suggestions! πŸ˜€

      1. Just looked it up on goodreads, the Apollyon would be the 4th book in the Covenant series if I understand correctly. There was some heavy criticism from bloggers about those books, saying it’s a blatant VA ripoff, would you agree? That’s why I’m going with Lux.
        And of course I have a million more suggestions (I just really have no idea what you’ve already read), but since most of your list is hyped authors, I would also recommend Veronica Rossi’s Under the never sky. There’s much hype there, and I’d say it’s well deserved. Would love to know what you think.

      2. Uh yeah. I totally agree. It’s a total VA rip off… but it’s also good fun to read, if you can put that aside.

        Ah yeah! Ive noticed the hyoe about that one.. I’ll definitely be checking it out πŸ™‚

    1. Heh. It’s a stubborn trait.. but im proud to be a stubborn pain in the proverbial. πŸ˜€

      What are you currently reading?

      1. Starling by EB Thompson. I tend to stick to indie authors as I hope to become one, so I am trying to show my support to others πŸ˜€

  2. You won’t be disappointed with the Hunger Games. For as much as I enjoy the movies, the books have way more depth.

    I read one book by Dean Koontz and found it to be “meh.” It had me right up until the last chapter or so. It was as if he had no idea how to end it, so he just pulled something out of the sky and called it a day. His books may not all be like that, but the book I read was enough to have me cross him off my list.

    Cinder is great! Can’t wait to get started on Scarlet. Also, I was skeptical when Divergent was hailed as on par with Hunger Games, but it actually pulls its weight pretty well. I do think I like the first book in the series best, though.

  3. Rainbow Rowell, I get it, I’m on the same boat. I plan on getting to at least Fangirl…I almost bought it today at bookstore…but well, two others beat it.

    No Hunger Games? Gasp! Haha, j/k. I just got to that series 5 months ago, so, yeah, can’t judge. lol

    Okay, whoa! No DIvergent? Don’t let the movie hype fool you. It still remains one of my top favorite reads. The first book specifically. I have conquered many non-readers or non-YA readers over with this very book!

    Tahereh? Well, only for one reason I urge on…Ignite Me. Holy Crapola, that book was so flippin good! (the last of the series)

    Anna and the French Kiss. Loved. It. Nuff said! lol Just got her “Lola and the Boy Next Door” today.

    To fill in the blank…hmm? I would say two suggestions:
    just kidding…three! lol
    1. The Incarnate series by Jodi Meadows. Fantasy with a touch of an advanced age, lots of heart and very interesting concept.
    2. Under the Never Sky series by Veronica Rossi
    You have futuristic post-apocalyptic, meets the rugged wild, two really hot and wonderful men! (Oh Perry and Roar)! Love. It.
    3. Last, here’s a monkey wrench Contemporary:
    Making Face by Amy Harmon.
    Holy Moly. This is just a beautiful story. A touch of Beastly in there but WAY better! I cried, I laughed, my heart pitter-pattered! One of the best stories I read.

    Okay, I’m done. Too-da-loo! ^-^

Talk to me!

