Posted in Author Interviews

Quick Q+A with Victoria Scott!

 

With the imminent release of Fire&Flood, Victoria Scott kindly agreed to do a short Q+A for BehindonBooks! Yay! Here’s the blurb:

“A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother’s life—and her own.

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can’t determine what’s wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She’s lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she’s helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It’s an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother’s illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there’s no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can’t trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?”

___

I’m thrilled to bits to be able to put this short Q+A on my blog. Thank you so much for agreeing to take part, I know you’re really busy at the moment. I’ve kept ‘em short and ‘sweet’. Literally.

Fire & Flood comes out in February, and I’m really excited to get my hands on it! If you had to describe the story in three words…

Adventure, animals, romance!

I hear you’re about to wade through edits for the next instalment (yay! A sequel!). Do you find editing a pleasant or a painful experience?

I am! I think the first pass, concept edits, can be a bit painful because it’s difficult to reimagine your story once you have it down. But I love line edits and copy edits. I could do those all day long and be happy.

Scenario: You’re at the fairground, and after riding the Ferris wheel you head for the sweet vendor… Only they have no cotton candy left! What do you go for instead?

First, my eyes just bugged out when I read this question. No cotton candy is no good. If I had to choose another carnival sweet, I’d go with a caramel apple. I eat at least one apple a day, and so smothering something I already love in caramel is a win!

__

I told you it was short! And sweet! If you don’t already, I would urge you to follow this cool gal on twitter. Fire&Flood promises to be a must-read for all YA fans methinks. It is available for pre-order in all the usual places!

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

One thought on “Quick Q+A with Victoria Scott!

  1. Short and very sweet! – you don’t get much sweeter than candyfloss… sorry, I couldn’t call it cotton candy, I just couldn’t. Definitely sounds like an interesting book.

Talk to me!

