Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: Attack on Titan #1 by Hijime Isayama

13154150

Attack on Titan by Hijime Isayama. Published June 2012 (English version)

“For one hundred years, what’s left of mankind has lived in the city on earth, protected by walls that tower over even the Titans. Untouched by the Titans for a century, humanity has become complacent. But Eren Jaeger has had enough. While his fellow citizens are content to hide, Jaeger has the passion to take action to not only protect the city, but to learn what the Titans actually are. But on his first mission he comes face to face with horrors beyond his imagination… and secrets from his own past that could shift the tides of war.”

I haven’t read a manga series in a while, and I usually gravitate towards the likes of Fruits Basket or Blackbird, so this was a little outside the box for me. There have been nothing but great things said about both the manga and the anime where AoT is concerned, so I felt I should at least try it and see.

What Did I Love About It?

  • Scary! – The whole concept is utterly terrifying! The human race whittled down to 25% and living inside the 50ft walls to protect themselves from hungry titans? Eeeps! Not to mention the brilliant artwork brings to life that horror in minute detail.
  • Artwork – As mentioned above, the artwork is stunning. It’s what helped me gel with this manga because its clean, crisp lines are similar to the manga artists I’m used to. The titans are depicted in such a beastly way that I was actually scared… (Ok, so I was reading this at night and I was tired.. and being a complete wimp apparently)
  • Mikasa – Probably my favourite character at the moment. She (uh.. I assumed ‘she’? As in ‘sister’, yeah?) has a kickass quality to her that I really liked.
  • Fast paced – It slams it right in your face from the word go. There’s no ‘go-slow’ moments yet where there’s ten pages of backstory of something. Like many manga translations though, you gotta be patient with the syntax and the exposition sometimes.

What Didn’t I Like?

  • Eren – Sorry. I know. Main character. But MY GOSH annoying! He was far to angry off the bat, and although I can see his motivation, I was less inclined to believe it would have such an extreme reaction in him.
  • Timeline? – I had to re-read the first section because I was confused about where we were with it. As the backstory is explained the storyline chops and changes from ‘then’ and ‘now’ in a weird fashion. Or more, it wasn’t as obvious as it could be.

Attack on Titan is a fun read! I think it’s more for fans of Samurai Deeper Kyo or Saiyuki, but it definitely ticks most of the boxes for me, and I’m a shojo/shounen-ai addict!

I can’t rate manga the same way I would more traditional publications, so I’ve added a new ratings system for comic-based books. (click on the link to see!)

I’m giving AoT:

=͟͟͞͞ʕ•̫͡•ʔ =͟͟͞͞ʕ•̫͡•ʔ =͟͟͞͞ʕ•̫͡•ʔ =͟͟͞͞ʕ•̫͡•ʔ

4/5 bears, because although I enjoyed it very much, I did get lost in the beginning. And why bears you ask? Why not?

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

4 thoughts on “Review: Attack on Titan #1 by Hijime Isayama

  1. I very much like your reviewing style. You give the reader a good, balanced view of a book. As a reader, I appreciate that – it keeps my expectations realistic; as a reviewer myself, I hope to emulate that same balance in my own reviews.

    1. Oh thank you very much! I sometimes find it hard to get the right balance, especially when I really love a book… or really don’t.

      Thanks for stopping by!! 😀

Talk to me!

