Posted in Chit Chat

Mashed Up Book Haul

I’ve bought a lot of books over the last few days and I thought I would share my more recent purchases with y’all. Some are for Semester B modules (Post-Colonial Literatures and Poetry Since the Second World War) and some are just for funsies. Thanks to the corresponding publishers for the ARC’s!! πŸ˜€

On Kindle:

Paperbacks:

ARCs (includingΒ re-releases)Β –

I have no idea where I’ll find the time to read any of these… BUT! I can’t wait to get stuck in. πŸ™‚

What books have you bought or borrowed lately?

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

9 thoughts on “Mashed Up Book Haul

  1. Wow, that’s quite a few books! πŸ™‚
    The madman’s daughter is coming up for me, really really hope it’s good especially since it’s a spin on The Island of Dr. Moreau, and the sequel is based on Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. I liked My soul to take a lot and Etiquette and espionage (though not as much as the Parasol Protectorate series) hope you will too!
    And do let me know what Love letters to the dead is like! Still undecided on that one.

  2. I haven’t been buying any books recently because my start-of-the month haul was crazy enough that I was REALLY broke afterwards ahahah! I haven’t read any of the books on your haul but I did receive Love Letters To The Dead! And I also snagged a cheap copy of Wither from before. I have yet to pick up both though! Anyway, I hope you enjoy reading these! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks! I think there’s something wrong with me.. It’s especially bad if I’m in a second hand book shop, I feel like I have a duty to give those books a new home. To love them. And pet them. And keep them for years on my bookshelf before feeling able to let them go and pass them on..

      *sigh*

      And if it’s got a pretty cover? I’m doomed!

      Thanks for stopping by sweets! πŸ˜€

  3. Those are A LOT of books! I have so many books on my TBR shelf, but I can’t stop borrowing from the library! I’ve gotten Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout, The Second Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann Brashares, and Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer. Eeeeek! I hope you enjoy your own books πŸ˜€

  4. I just borrowed the first three books in the Richard Montanari ‘Balzano & Byrne’ series from my brother, but only after I finished reading the sixth one in the series. You might ask why I didn’t go for the first three in the series before the sixth one. There isn’t an answer to that which is flattering about me or my ability to organise my reading. Do you or any of your blog-followers like Montanari?

    From your latest haul I quite like the look of David Hewson’s ‘Lucifer’s Shadow’ – it’s set in Venice! – will you be giving us the low-down on that when you read it?

    1. Yeah! I should be. I bought it because it used some stylistic techniques that I DIDN’T want to use in my dissertation… Just so I had something to contrast against. (Don’t judge my motives)

      I haven’t read anything by Montanari. Should I?

      πŸ™‚

      1. There’s no judgment here, in fact that sounds like a good reason to buy it, more so if you get any entertainment from reading it along the way!

        Regarding Montanari, and bearing in mind your TBR pile, I’ll have to say a no at present. His two main characters are starting to smack of being two dimensional at best, especially the female. She has the potential to be so much more than a side-kick, she could be a bad-ass, so I don’t buy her getting all weak-kneed about some pretty boy.
        Side-note here, but do you ever have issues with how certain characters are portrayed by authors of the opposite gender?

        Sorry, I’m hi-jacking the thread here :s

        Lovin’ your blog though!

Talk to me!

