Posted in Fashionably Late Reviews :)

Review: The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan

15989598

The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan, released May 2013

“After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and society events for the unfamiliar city of Paris.

In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and, disturbingly, the house Ingrid’s twin brother, Grayson, found for them isn’t a house at all. It’s an abandoned abbey, its roof lined with stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures.

And Grayson has gone missing.

No one seems to know of his whereabouts but Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant at their new home.”

This book had to be a sure fire guarantee. The whole vibe of it is exactly what I love about the genre. Gargoyles and demons and angels, oh my!

I’ll cut to the chase.

What I Loved About This Book:

  • Concept – I’ve never read a book where the ‘hero’ of the story was a gargoyle. A freakin’ gargoyle! Or as Page coins them ‘The Dispossessed’. It feels like a fresh and exciting idea. And it was!
  • Nolan and Vander – If this pair took over the narrative, I wouldn’t have minded. I love these two. Nolan is as human as human can be. And Scottish to boot! Vander is a bookish ‘seer’ who I would really love to meet.
  • Pacing – The narrative moved along wonderfully, there were no moments where I found myself skimming the pages.
  • The Gothic – I love the Gothic elements Morgan used within this book. Not least the architecture, but it captured the vibe of a dark, Victorian penny dreadful, or something Poe might have imagined. ❤

What I Didn’t Love

  • Gargoyles, gargoyles everywhere… – There are some scenes where the gargoyles appear en masse and it is confusing! Trying to correspond each description to each gargoyle proved very difficult and in the end I gave up and they were just a blur of hulking mass.
  • That love triangle thing – Why, why, why? It made me feel annoyed at Ingrid when I had previously been totally on board with her as a character. I know human emotion can’t be controlled, especially in matters of the heart, but it’s too obvious with whom her heart truly resides. I don’t like the idea of other characters being strung along.
  • Luc – I LOVED Luc. BUT! The blurb promises ‘devastatingly handsome’ and unfortunately this wasn’t delivered. I felt like there could have been more in the way of concrete detail (ha! No pun intended! ‘concrete’.. gargoyle.. lols) and then I might have swooned with the best of them. I love him for actions… I just wanted to love him for his looks also. See ‘Dimitri Belikov’ for the perfect assimilation of this.

An easy 2:1 for this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I cannot wait for the sequel!

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan

  1. You already I’m reading this asap, but it’s so good you liked it! And ugh, love triangle, really??? Didn’t realize that before. I really hate those, especially when some poor nice guy is being lead on… *khm*Adrian*khm* 🙂

    1. Aww, it is almost an Adrian situation here..

      Poor Vander. I love him as a character, and I’m worried he’s gonna get his little heart broken.. 😦

      Thanks for dropping in! 😀

Talk to me!

