Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday – Best of 2013

Thanks to the Broke and Bookish who host this meme!

Top Ten Books I Read In 2013

So here’s a run down of the books that made my 2013, and a short description of ‘why’.

__________

3MidnightsChildren

1. Salman Rushdie – Midnight’s Children

This book changed how I looked at language in the relationship to the actual story. The way words on the actual page can be manipulated any which way the author wants to create an overall effect.

__________

13547220

2. F. Scott Fitzgerald – The Great Gatsby

I fell in love with the tone of this book. Beautifully done! Inspiring! It will stay with me forever.

__________

krake2

3. Margaret Atwood – Oryx and Crake

This was nothing like I expected it to be. It blew my mind! I can’t wait to read MaddAddam!

__________

15287261

4. J R Ward – Lover At Last

I was desperate for this book to happen, and I was so SO glad it all happened how I wanted it to! A definite improvement from its predecessor. A sizzling, tantalizing wonder!

__________

fiery heart

5. Richelle Mead – The Fiery Heart

Oh my word. I am so glad I have stuck with this spin-off. It feels like it has taken a long time to get to this point, but I think it was it worth the wait. I think… Still! Dimitri cameo FTW!

__________

gameboard

6. Richelle Mead – Gameboard of the Gods

It took me a long while to warm up to the characters and the post-apocalyptic kind of dystopian world (huh?) but I’m totally into it now. I love Mae. Like all Mead’s leading ladies, she is badass! (currently at 89% so please no spoilers!)

__________

13600791

7. Sasha Summers – For the Love of Hades

This book was a bit of a blind side. It came and hit me out of nowhere! I loved it’s predecessor too (Medusa) but this one ticked so many boxes for me. I mean, come one, it’s freakin’ Hades! And in this book he is HAWT!

__________

12188405

8. Sandy Williams – The Shadow Reader

Again, this book took me by surprise. I have been looking for another MUS HAVE series in the urban fantasy/paranormal genre for AGES and I was just about to give up when I stumbled across this one. It reminded me very much of Richelle Mead’s writing style, in all the right ways. Love!

__________

4game

9. George R. R. Martin – A Game of Thrones

I feel like if I hadn’t watched the HBO series I wouldn’t have enjoyed this book quite as much. There is something to be desired about Martin’s character ‘connection’ you know? But I did enjoy the book very much. I’m nearly through the second one now 🙂

_________

13517624

10. Gideon Defoe – The Pirates! In and Adventure with the Romantics

I did a buddy-buddy with this book (thanks Ever! -x-). We enjoyed the read immensely. Reading in tandem meant we could chortle and guffaw and titter at every silly little detail. Great stuff! Highly recommended for a light read, and I highly recommend getting a reading buddy! The best fun I’ve had in ages! (I live life in the fast lane..) 😀

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Best of 2013

  1. so you would recommend Gameboard of the gods? I’ve heard so many complaints at this point about it from slow beginning to unlikable characters that I’m kind of terrified but it IS Richelle Mead and Bloodlines is already proof she’s worth sticking with

    1. I would recommend it, definitely! I think because it’s set in a dystopia kind of world it takes longer to set things up, you know? But I really liked Mae as a character 🙂

  2. I agree with your point on reading with a buddy, normally reading is a fairly solitary affair for me (and I hate it when people read over my shoulder!) but it’s a lot of fun to read in tandem and share the experience.
    Here’s to a new year filled with great literature, keep up the great work captain! x

Talk to me!

