Posted in Chit Chat

Venice, Venice, Venice

a moody, misty morning
a moody, misty morning

I was in love with Venice before I even knew much about it. The idea of a city on water (sinking, floating, whatever) was immediately inspiring.

I know I’m not the only one to find inspiration from it either. Granted, Shakespeare might have used Venice more as a ‘tool’ than as an inspiring environment (the port was, for all intents and purposes, a symbol of republic, and sin, and extravagant indulgence. Lock up your travel ready sons Elizabethan England!) But it still carries a literary legacy.

I made my third trip to the city this year and it never gets boring. I can’t help but imagine scenes from Merchant (of Venice) or the opening of Othello with Iago calling out Desdamona’s father in the quiet dark.

Venice is also the setting for my dissertation piece. I couldn’t help myself.

As Truman Capote rightly puts it: ‘Venice is like eating an entire box of chocolate liqueurs in one go’

It definitely is. And I would do it over and over, despite the sugar rush and the tummy ache.

*photo by me.

Author:

YA writer. Epic reader. Professional procrastinator.

One thought on “Venice, Venice, Venice

Talk to me!

